County Commission Could Go Back To Seven Members
Thursday, September 23, 2021

(CENTREVILLE) – There is a possibility that the St. Joseph County Commission could go back to having seven members for the first time since 2011.

The St. Joseph County Apportionment Commission has released a new proposed apportionment map, which is proposing seven Commission districts. They are given the responsibility to come up with the boundary lines for the new Districts, based on information from the 2020 U.S. Census.

If approved there would be three changes to the Districts, compared to what is in place right now. The first would be the City of Three Rivers being it's own District. The other would be the City of Sturgis being split between three different districts: Districts 4, 5 and 7.

The third change would be Colon Township being divided between District 6 and District 7.

The proposed new Districts would be as follows: District 1 would be Lockport, Park and Flowerfield Townships; District 2 would include Fabius, Constantine and Florence Townships; District 3 would be the City of Three Rivers; District 4 would be made up of Mottville, White Pigeon and Sturgis Townships along with the southwest portion of the City of Sturgis.

District 5 would be Sherman Township and the northern part of the City of Sturgis; District 6 would be made up of Nottawa, Mendon and Leonidas Townships along with the northern half of Colon Township; and District 7 would be Fawn River and Burr Oak Townships, the southern half of Colon Township and the southeast portion of the City of Sturgis.

The Apportionment Commission is made up of County Clerk Lindsay Oswald, County Treasurer Kathy Humphreys, County Prosecutor Dave Marvin, County Republican Party Chair Rodney Chupp and County Democratic Party Chair Kathy Greaves.

They will meet again on October 6 at 11 AM and will take public comment at that time.