SHS Athletic Hall Of Fame Announces Inductees
Thursday, September 12, 2019

(STURGIS) – Six former Sturgis High School athletes and coaches will be inducted into the SHS Athletic Hall Of Fame.

The 2019 class consists of Kaitlin Abbs Bergman, a 2009 graduate who competed in gymnastics, track and field and diving. She was the State Champion on the balance beam in 2009 and State Runnerup on the bars in 2008.

Also being inducted is Kendra Begly Eicher, a 1997 graduate, who was a member of the girls tennis team. She was a Twin Valley Conference Champion and Regional Champion in singles tennis for four years. Eicher later was the Sturgis girls tennis coach from 2012 to 2014.

Craig Casault is a 1971 graduate who was co-captain of the 1971 boys basketball team that went 18-1 in the Twin Valley. He was named UPI First Team Class B All State and All American Honorable Mention. Casault also played football and ran track.

Ray Martin is a 1963 graduate of Sturgis. He competed in football, wrestling and track while in high school. He served as the the boys and girls swim coach for 32 years from 1978 to 2010. He coached 54 All State swimmers and divers, 5 State Champions and 5 All Americans.

Adam Simonson is a member of the Class of 1994. He was a three year starter in football, basketball and baseball. He went on to play football for Central Michigan University and one year of basketball.

Robert Miller was a coach and Athletic Director along with being Principal at Sturgis High School from 1930 to 1967. He was instrumental in organizing the Twin Valley Conference, and served as the Conference President from 1949 to 1953. As the men's basketball coach, Miller led his 1945 team to the State Championship.

The induction ceremony will be Saturday, October 5 at the Sturges-Young Center For the Arts. Doors will open at 5 PM, dinner will be at 5:30 PM and the ceremony will follow the meal.